Mathematical Moments

Welcome to the home page of the Math Circle for middle school students at FAU! The main purpose of the circle is to have fun with mathematics, while learning something in the process. We will be solving problems, having friendly competitions, playing mathematical games. Below you find a preview of the next session. Links to information about past sessions can be found on the navigation panel on the left.

To keep this circle as useful as possible, it is important to have feedback from participants and parents and teachers of participants. Don't be shy, let us know what you think. What can we do to improve it? An occasional word of praise will keep us going strong, but constructive criticism can be more important.

The Math Circle at FAU is now partially supported by a grant from the Mathematical Research Institute (MSRI) and the National Security Agency (NSA)

The sessions

All sessions will be held either in PS 109 or in PS 112, 2:30 to 4 PM on the following Saturdays.

FALL SEMESTER 2013
  • Saturday September 28
  • Saturday October 5
  • Saturday October 19
  • Saturday November 9
  • Saturday November 16
  • Saturday December 7


SPRING SEMESTER 2014
  • Saturday January 11
  • Saturday January 25
  • Saturday February 8
  • Saturday March 1
  • Saturday March 15
  • Saturday March 29
  • Saturday April 19
  • Saturday May 3
  • Saturday May 17?

Organization of the sessions

We would like students to form groups of two or three and work together. It is better if parents/teachers sit in the back and let the students work on their own. Some problems may be a bit too difficult for some students, we have kids of varying ages and varying scholarly backgrounds; you shouldn't be discouraged if things are too difficult. You'll catch up. We hope however there will be something for everyone. Otherwise there are no fixed rules. Students can get up, walk about, write on the whiteboards (we provide markers). Problems that do not get done by the end of a session are left as homework; at the beginning of each session we will briefly see how students did on the homework. There are, of course, no grades, and no pressure. We'll try to have a topic for each meeting, with problems that illustrate the topic of the day.



Source of the Problems    The majority of problems will come from very diverse sources, old AMC 8 competitions, the Moscow Math Circle Problem book, historical sources (for example Fibonacci's Liber Abaci), etc.. A few will be made up by us. Sources will not always be credited, but will be revealed upon request.

Contact Information Please address your questions or suggestions to:

Professor Tomas Schonbek
Department of Mathematical Sciences
Florida Atlantic University
Boca Raton, FL 33431

(561)297-3355
schonbek@fau.edu